The AR Project Event Calendar The S197 Project The 4G63 Project

When Abraham Lincoln was elected as president in 1860. Southerners thought the government was becoming too strong. They did not think the government had the right to tell them how they should live. Southerners felt if they stayed in the United States, the North would control them. 

Some southern states decided they had no choice. They decided to secede, or leave, the United States. South Carolina was the first to leave the Union and form a new nation called the Confederate States of America. Four months later, six other states seceded. They were Georgia, Florida, Alabama, Mississippi, Texas and Louisiana. Later Virginia, Arkansas, North Carolina, and Tennessee joined them. The people of these states elected Jefferson Davis as president of the Confederacy.

The northern states were called the Union. President Lincoln said he would fight to keep the southern states as part of the United States. There were Union forts on Confederate land. The Confederates wanted Union soldiers to leave these forts. In Charleston, South Carolina there was a Union fort called Fort Sumter. The Union soldiers refused to leave this fort, so the Confederates fired cannons at the fort on April 12, l861. This was the beginning of the Civil War. 

The 15 slave states at the time of the Civil War were Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Virginia (including West Virginia which hadn't separated from Virginia at that time). (The District of Columbia also had slavery prior to the Civil War.) Though not states, slavery was practiced in the Nebraska Territory and in the Indian Territory (Oklahoma) as early as the 1850s. The last northern state to abolish slavery was New Jersey in 1804, although the laws of that state retained slaves over a certain age as "apprentices for life" until the 13th Amendment, in 1865. Eleven of these states declared their secession in 1860 and 1861 to form the Confederate States of America; Delaware, Kentucky, Maryland and Missouri did not leave the Union. West Virginia joined the Union as a slave state in 1863 after seceding from Virginia.

Thus the non Slave States were Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Vermont, Connecticut, New York, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Ohio, Indiana, Michigan, Iowa, Wisconsin, Minnesota, Oregon and California. 

As you can see, the civil war wasn't about slavery. It was about big government control. If it were about slavery then the Union states and territories including the District of Columbia where slavery was legal would also have been fighting against the union.


This is the first news article on ExtremeD. This site is dedicated to all my crazy projects I take on. I haven't had much time to do any real updates to the site, but I'm hoping to get a few more people in here to make it start moving into the right direction. Everything from the old site is gone. If you were looking for something then hit me up and I'll drop it in the forums (when I install them again). 

Tuesday the 30th. - Joomla Site Templates